This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
ISAC Awards

ISAC offers several annual awards for extraordinary achievements in the field of cytometry and other related sciences.

Mack Fulwyler Award for Innovative Excellence

Established in memory of Mack J. Fulwyler, the inventor of the electrostatic cell sorter, this award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding innovation by invention, or in a career of innovative science. A recipient does not need to be a member of the Society.

President’s Award for Excellence

The President's Award for Excellence is presented to one or more of the outstanding younger members of the Society. To be eligible for this award, a candidate must be a member of the Society, out of post-doctoral training for no more than five years, have made presentations at national and international meetings, have published in refereed journals, and attend CYTO, the Society’s Annual Congress. In addition, the candidate must submit a brief paper on the subject of a poster presented at the Congress.

Distinguished Service Award

A Distinguished Service Award was established to honor those individuals who served the Society in a major role, provided major support to the Society and its members, or made a significant contribution to the success of the Society. Please note that prior to 2006 the award was known as the Honorary Fellow of the Society Award.

Exceptional Student Award

The Exceptional Student Award recognizes continuing outstanding performance by a student with service to the field and to the Society. To be eligible for this award, a candidate must be a member of the Society, be a pre-doctoral student, and follow a field of study in any physical or natural science with a goal of working in cytometry. In addition, the candidate must submit a brief paper on the subject of a poster presented at the Congress.

Membership Award

The ISAC Membership Award recognizes those individuals with exceptional service to the cytometry community, as well as to the Society and those who have achieved peer recognition for advancing the field of cytometry. The award includes a plaque and lifetime membership in ISAC.

Cytometry Part A Best Paper Award

Established in 2003, this award recognized the best paper appearing in Cytometry Part A, as judged by the editors and associate editors.

Outstanding Poster Award

The Outstanding Poster Award is a competitive award given to one or more poster presenters at each CYTO Congress.

2019 Award Winners
Scott Cram
Mack Fulwyler Award for Innovative Excellence
Thomas Liechti
President’s Award for Excellence
J. Paul Robinson
Distinguished Service Award
Bill Telford
Distinguished Service Award
Jennifer Eng
Exceptional Student Award
Amy Tsai
Exceptional Student Award
Derek Davies
Membership Award
Fabian L. Kriegel
Cytometry Part A Best Paper Award
Suat Dervish
Outstanding Poster Award
Amy Fox
Outstanding Poster Award
Past ISAC Award Winners


Distinguished Service Award Membership Award
(Honorary Fellow pre-2002)
Fulwyler Award for Innovative Excellence President's Award for Excellence Exceptional Student Award

Ryan Brinkman

Paul Smith

Jonni Moore Alan Waggoner Jolanda Brummelman

Ashley Connelly

Dickson Siu


Joanne Lannigan

Diether Recktenwald

Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz Stefan Miltenyi Asylkhan Rakhymzhan Thomas Ashhurst

Kathy Muirhead

Robert Murphy

Betsy Ohlsson-Wilhelm

Peter Rabinovich

Gulderen Yanikkaya Demirel Howard Shapiro Christopher Baker Denis Schapiro
2015 Zosia Maciorowski Mario Roederer Wolfgang Gohde Jakub Nedbal Charles Shields IV

Jim Jett

Gary Durack

J. Paul Robinson David Hedley Pia Kvistborg Maria Rebelo

James Leary

Maria Pallavicini

Vincent Shankey Tom Jovin

Er Liu

Adriano Taddeo

Charles Shields IV

Jan Visser

Peter Lansdorp

Robert Lief Leon Terstappen Sean Bendall Rikki K. Anderson

Alex Nakeff

Bruce Bagwell

Janos Szollosi

Frank Traganos

Scott Cram

Carleton Stewart

D. Lansing Taylor Tiffany Chen Allesandra Costa

Attila Tarnok

Bob Auer

Laura Teodori

Bob Hoffman

Alan Waggoner

David Park

Awtar Krishan Joe Gray Ana Juan Garcia Deanna Santer
 2008 Awtar Krishan Hans J. Tanke Ted Young Ewa Zuba-Suma Gabor Moscar

Brian H. Mayall

Ole Didrik Laerum

Gunter Valet

Michael G. Ormerod

Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz    
 2004 James V. Watson Anne A. Hurley      

Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz

Ian T. Young

Howard Shapiro      

Carleton W. Stewart

Scott Cram

Harry A. Crissman

Harald B. Steen


Philip N. Dean

Barton L. Gledhill

Louis A. Kametsky

Wolfgang Gohde

Leonard A. Herzenberg

 1996 Leon L. Wheeless

Myron Melamed

Mortimer L. Mendelsohn


Mack J. Fulwyler

Johannes Schumann

Klauss Goerttle

Marvin A. Van Dilla


Wallace Coulter

Bernard Shoor

J. Sebastian (Bas) Ploem