This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Virginia Litwin

Virginia Litwin

Councilor (2016-2020)

Virginia Litwin, PhD is a thought-leader in analytical method validation and standardization for flow cytometry. Bringing “Cytometry from Bench-to-Bedside” has been the focus of her professional activities since 1999 when she started working in translational medicine at Bristol-Myers Squibb.

She co-founded the Flow Cytometry Action Program Committee (APC) within the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). This group published the first papers on flow cytometry method and instrument validation which Virginia was invited to present at the FDA Workshop on Clinical Flow Cytometry in 2013. .

CVirginia is the chair of the Document Development Committee for a new Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) Guideline, H62- Validation of Assays Performed by Flow Cytometry. She is a councilor for both the International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry (ISAC) and the International Clinical Cytometry Society (ICCS). In addition, she serves on the ICCS Advocacy Committee whose mission is to interface with regulatory agencies.

Virginia edited the book, Flow Cytometry in Drug Discovery and Development (Wiley-Blackwell), a Special Issue of the Journal of Immunology Methods on Flow Cytometry Biomarkers and Translational Medicine, and a Special Issue of Cytometry Part B dedicated to Receptor Occupancy.

After obtaining a Ph.D. in Virology/Immunology from the University of Iowa, Virginia joined Lewis Lanier at DNAX as a post-doctoral fellow. She was the scientific leader for flow cytometry at Covance from 2010 to 2017 where she was also the first recipient of the Covance Science and Technology Award. Recently, she joined Caprion Biosciences as Vice President, Immunology.